The Break Up

Within the last few weeks both of my sisters have parted ways with their long term boyfriends. Regardless of who makes the final decision, break ups are always challenging and upsetting. After my last break up, I found that there are a few things that really helped me cope with the changes and emotions.

Buy Some New Pajamas – Post break up, you start spending a lot more time alone. I found spending my nights on my own after the split to be one of the biggest emotional challenges. To make myself feel better, I bought new PJs. New sleepwear gives you something to look forward to at bedtime, not dread. Whether you like flannel pajama sets or silky negligees new pajamas offer one small step towards moving forward with your life.

Fall in Love with a Cocktail – One of my best friends introduced me to a drink that quickly became signature after my break up. It became fondly known to me as a “Pazia” after her and is a mix of vodka, soda, cranberry and lime. Simple and refreshing. I’m not saying you need to become an alcoholic as a result of a break up, but having a few drinks every once in a while encourages you to go out and be a little more social. Another beverage I highly recommend is Sex, a brut rose sparkling wine that is as delightful as its name.

Pick Up a New Hobby – I took a photography class right after my break up. It was something I had wanted to do for a long time. The class helped me realize a passion and gave me an opportunity to meet new people and try new things on a weekly basis. Finding a new hobby definitely helps take your mind off of things and gives you something new and exciting to focus on instead.

Buy Yourself Something You Don’t Reeeeally Need – I have always had an obsession with Kerastase products. They do wonderful things to my hair but cost a small fortune. After a split, I think every girl should splurge on one item, keeping it to around $75-$100, that they absolutely love but don’t really need.

Leave a Reply

